Mamata Banerjee’s party TMC Win Bengal for 3rd term

Mamata Banerjee’s party TMC Win Bengal for 3rd term

West Bengal (WB) Election Results 2021: Even as the Trinamool Congress is headed for a landslide victory in West Bengal winning 198 seats and leading in 15 as of 11.45 pm, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has lost to her former trusted lieutenant Suvendu Adhikari by a slim margin of 1956 votes, data on the Election Commission website said. Earlier, while asking party workers to not fuel speculations before the counting is completed, Mamata had said she will accept the verdict of the people. Meanwhile, the Trinamool Congress has demanded recounting in Nandigram constituency alleging a number of illegalities in the vote counting process, although the Returning Officer has rejected the demand.

Earlier, speaking to the press in Kolkata, she said, “This is a victory for the people of Bengal. I am proud to say that Bengal saved the country. The Election Commission behaved badly with us — they behaved like BJP’s spokesperson. BJP played dirty politics and lost the election.”

She added, “Covid is my first priority. We will work on this immediately. We will not do a big oath-taking ceremony. We will weather this storm. We will distribute free vaccines to everyone. Also request the Centre to distribute free vaccines to all. If this does not happen, I will sit on a dharna in front of the Gandhi Murti in Kolkata. We appeal to everyone not to do a victory rally now. We will do a big victory rally at the Brigade Parade Ground later after the situation is normal.”

PM Narendra Modi has congratulated Mamata Banerjee for TMC’s performance in the Assembly polls and said BJP will keep serving the people of Bengal. “Congratulations to Mamata Didi for @AITCofficial’s win in West Bengal. The Centre will continue to extend all possible support to the West Bengal Government to fulfil people’s aspirations and also to overcome the COVID-19 pandemic,” he tweeted.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *